Saxifrages in troughs - Fall 2011

23 posts / 0 new
Last post
Lincks
Title: Guest
Saxifrages in troughs - Fall 2011

This is my first year growing saxes and I would be curious to see how other members saxes are doing this fall in their troughs. Pictures would be appreciated and we could use some newer postings related to saxifrages. Thanks

penstemon
Title: Member

There are about 70 porophyllum saxifrages in the troughs here. They're pretty happy. In fact, they're so happy some of them have begin to hang over the edges of the troughs, maybe trying to reach the ground.
In Denver the troughs need to be in shade in the winter, otherwise the plants shrivel to nothing in our hot winter sun.
I just bought a camera so by the time the plants bloom--late February to mid-March here---I might have figured out how to take pictures and post them.

Bob

(snowing here)

Bob

extreme western edge of Denver, Colorado; elevation 1705.6 meters, average annual precipitation 30cm; refuses to look at thermometer if it threatens to go below -17C

deesen
deesen's picture

Nold wrote:

..........I bought a camera so by the time the plants bloom--late February to mid-March here---I might have figured out how to take pictures and post them.

Do get on with it Bob, I'm sat here salivating ;D

Some years ago I bought an old stone kitchen sink from our local tip (cost me 50p [about 80cents]) intending to plant it as a Saxiphrage trough. Never got round to it but this year, as the accountant of the family wasn't looking, I sneaked a selection of Porphyrion Saxes in with one of my bulb orders. Now I need to buy some stone and I'm away.

David Nicholson
in Devon, UK  Zone 9b

WimB
WimB's picture

I planted my first Saxifraga trough in 2008 (see first pic). You can see how they look now on the second pic.
It's filled with ten pure species saxifrages. In March a couple of them were flowering (third pic).